Take California Traffic School to mask a traffic ticket and prevent points from being added to your driver record license. That means your insurance company
won't see your traffic ticket and can't raise your rate because of it. Our course is licensed by the California DMV, which means it is accepted by all courts. You can rest easy knowing you're in good hands.
Also, our course comes packed with great benefits
including a low cost, no hidden fees, excellent customer support, no lesson timers (complete the course at your own pace!), FREE instant proof of completion, FREE instant completion processing to your court, and an open book final exam (that's right--we let you look back at the course during your test!).
What is California Traffic School?
California Traffic School is an 8-hour course that allows drivers to mask a traffic ticket and keep points from being added to a driver record.
It is regulated by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV licenses schools to offer the program to California and non-resident
drivers. There are two ways to take California Traffic School: classroom or online. Drivers attend classroom courses in person. Typically, a classroom
course is one entire day or two four-hour days. Drivers attend online courses anywhere they have a computer with an internet connection. The online
course is self-paced, which means those who take the course may spend more or less than 8 hours to complete it. Upon completing the course, schools
award a certificate of completion to the driver. In addition, schools submit the completion certificate to both the court and the DMV. Drivers
can check the progress of their ticket dismissal by looking up their traffic case on their court's website.
The topics covered in the course are regulated by the DMV. They include:
- Safe Driving Strategies
- Driving Behaviors
- Driving Conditions
- Turns, Passing, Intersections, Lanes
- Protecting Yourself While Driving
- Adult and Child Safety Equipment
- Impaired Driving
- Distracted Driving
- City, Rural, Suburban, Expressway Driving
- Truck, Motorcycle, and Bicycle Awareness
How Does the California Traffic School Course Online Work?
Step 1: Register
Registration is quick and easy! Simply select the court where you received your ticket, create a username and
password, and fill out your contact information. That's it! You're ready to get started.
Step 2: Complete the Course
Our California Traffic School course is the shortest course allowed by law. There are no lesson timers, so you can complete it at your own pace. You
can even complete it the same day you start the course!
Each lesson contains videos, reading material, animations and games. You'll review California traffic laws and learn defensive driving techniques that will help keep you safe on the road.
There's a short quiz after each lesson. You must pass the quiz to proceed to the next lesson. Most people pass the lesson quizzes
on their first attempt, but don't worry--you can retake the lesson quizzes as many times as you need to pass at no additional cost.
Step 3: Pass the Final Exam
At the end of the course, you will take an online multiple-choice final exam. The exam is open book, meaning you can look back at the course as you take it.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles allows students two attempts to pass the final exam. Most students pass the exam on their first attempt. Safe2Drive does not charge any additional fees to take the final exam a second time. If you happen to fail the final exam twice, the California DMV requires you to start the course over from the beginning.
Safe2Drive will not issue refunds for students who fail the final exam twice.
You may also enroll in another Traffic Violator School course if you choose to do so rather than starting our course over from the beginning.
When you pass the final exam, we instantly process your completion to your court for you for free. Once your court has received and reviewed your completion, they will notify the DMV. The DMV will then mask (hide) the
points on your driving record. No one, including insurance companies, will see your ticket. Remember to check with your court 7-10 business days after you
complete the course to make sure they have processed your completion!
We will also email your Receipt of Completion to you for your records. You can also print a copy from your account.
Am I Eligible to Take California Traffic School?
You must meet certain requirements to be eligible to take California Traffic School to mask a ticket.
- You must have a valid Class C driver license.
- You must have been ticketed for a moving (driving) violation.
- You must have not taken traffic school for a ticket you got in the last 18 months (from citation date).
- You must have paid all fees and bail to your court.
You can read more about the eligibility requirements by clicking here.
What is the Difference Between Traffic School and Traffic Violator School?
In short: nothing. Traffic School and Traffic Violator School are the same thing. The California DMV uses Traffic Violator School on its web site.
Courts, judges, and most drivers use the term Traffic School. The terms both refer to the same thing: an 8-hour course regulated by the California DMV.
At Safe2Drive, we put our customers above everything else. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and top-notch courses. We're constantly updating
our courses to make sure they have the most up-to-date information and use the best technology available.
Best of all, our courses are easy to complete and extremely convenient. Skip the hassle of the classroom and take your course online from the comfort of your own home (or on the go!).
Accepted in all counties.
So what are you waiting for? Get started today!
Back to Top