What is Nevada Traffic School?
Nevada Traffic School is a 5-hour course that allows motorists to satisfy a court requirement or remove points from their driver record. It
is regulated by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV licenses private schools to offer the course. Safe2Drive is
an approved provider. The course can be taken in a classroom or online. Motorists register for the course, complete the coursework, and then
earn a certificate of completion. They submit the certificate of completion to the court if they are satisfying a court requirement. The
school will automatically submit the completion to the DMV if the motorist is seeking to remove points from the driving record. About two
weeks are required for the adjusted points to be reflected on the driver record.
Satisfy a Plea Bargain with a Court or a Court Requirement
Drivers can take this course to satisfy a plea bargain with a court or a court requirement to complete traffic school.
Please Note: No point reductions are given if a driver takes this course as part of a plea bargain agreement with the court. If you are looking to voluntarily take a traffic school course to get 3 points removed from your driving record, you must select that reason when registering for this course.
Voluntarily to Remove Points from Your Driver Record
Many drivers take our course voluntarily to remove 3 points from their driver record. Nevada drivers can voluntarily take our Nevada Traffic School Course to get 3 points removed from their driving record if they have accumulated between 3 and 11 points and they aren't taking the course as part of a plea-bargain with a court of law.
Students can only voluntarily take a traffic school course for point reduction once within a 12-month period.
How Nevada Traffic School Works
Our Nevada Traffic School course is full of great benefits and can be completed in just three easy steps:
Step One: Register.
Registration is quick and easy. You'll create a username and password and read some information about the course. Then, you're ready to get started!
Step Two: Take the Course.
Our course consists of 5 short lessons made up of reading material, videos, animations and games on traffic laws and
defensive driving techniques. As per Nevada state requirements, the course is 5 hours long. You can proceed at your own pace--complete the course in one sitting, or do a little at a time.
Each time you log in, we automatically take you right back to where you left off.
There is a short multiple-choice quiz after each lesson that consists of ten questions. You must answer seven questions correctly to proceed to the next lesson. You can take
the lesson quizzes as many times as necessary to pass.
The final part of the course is a 40-question multiple-choice final exam. You must score at least 70% to pass. Most people pass on their first attempt, but don't worry!
We allow unlimited exam retakes at no extra charge, so you can retake the exam until you pass.
Step Three: Receive Your Certificate of Completion.
For court-referred students: We email the certificate to you after we receive your notarized affidavit. You can also print a copy online from your account.
You must print it out, sign it, and deliver it to the court for credit.
For Point Reduction Nevada Traffic School: After we receive your notarized affidavit, we will notify the NV DMV of your completion for you.
We suggest you follow up with the NV DMV in 2-3 weeks to ensure they have processed your completion and the 3-point credit was issued. Safe2Drive will then
also email you a copy of your certifcate to have for your records. You can also print a copy online from your account.
Please Note: The Nevada DMV requires you to submit a notarized affidavit that you have completed the final exam before we can issue you a Certificate of Completion. This is a requirement for all online schools. We will provide you with the affidavit that needs to be signed/notarized as well as a list of in-person and online notaries. You can submit the notarized affidavit to us online via an upload, or via email, fax or mail. Please plan ahead and allow yourself plenty of time to complete this requirement.
Don’t get stuck unprepared! Some traffic schools do not advertise that you will need an affidavit to obtain your certificate, but in order to be in compliance with the laws, they will require you to submit it. Safe2Drive not only provides you with the form you need in advance, but we even provide a list of notaries, some of them that are FREE!
You can download and print a copy of the affidavit here [Download Affidavit].
You can view a list of notaries here [Download List of Notaries]. Note that you do NOT have to use a notary off this list, we are just providing you this as a helpful resource. Whatever notary you choose, however, must be certified.
What is the Difference between Traffic Safety School and Traffic School?
There is no difference. They are different terms for the same thing.
Nevada motorists attend traffic safety school for one of two reasons:
- As part of a plea bargain agreement with a court of law;
- Voluntarily to reduce the number of points on a driving record.
No point reductions are given for courses completed as part of a plea bargain. Motorists may take only one voluntary traffic safety course
for point reduction within a 12-month period. Schools are required to report completions to the DMV. The DMV licenses and monitors
At Safe2Drive, we put our customers above everything else. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and top-notch courses at low prices. We're constantly updating our courses to make sure they have the most up-to-date information and use the best technology available.
We also offer a Money Back Guarantee.
Best of all, our courses are easy to complete and extremely convenient. Skip the hassle of the classroom and take your course online from the comfort of your own home (or on the go!).
So what are you waiting for? Get started today!
Back to Top